Sampling data through our Fastly setup for analysis?

Hello!

I’m evaluating various CDN offerings and trying to do a few simple PoCs to gain some experience.

My organization has a desire to sample (say 1/1000 requests) requests coming through our CDN to evaluate performance and traffic patterns. The specifics on how we process the data don’t matter so much I suppose, but the goal is to be able to get request and response data from our CDN and send the data to another process to be evaluated / stored.

The data I want specifically is:

1. The contents of the request AND response headers AND body
  2. Timing / performance metrics, what it took the backend / origin server to respond to the request

I’m new to Fastly but looking at the docs I see (at least) two options and am hoping somebody might be able to provide some advice or guidance based on your experience.

1. Use the Compute service and somehow (?) send the data from the compute service to an external service for processing. This is my biggest question I think, is this feasible with the compute service? In the AWS world (which I’m most familiar with) I would be looking to send the data collected in the Compute / edge to a queue / SNS topic in the same region. I don’t see a comparable service in Fastly’s offerings so I imagine the only option would be to send the data to a third party but that feels slow and perhaps costly in terms of compute cost (my understanding is Fastly Compute is supposed to be in the millisecond execution time, but perhaps that’s only blocking requests?). This is really my biggest question, how can I effectively, quickly, without performance degradation get data out of the compute service?